Balance

It’s difficult to find a balance in life. Especially in December, when you suddenly realize if you don’t accomplish That One Thing before the end of the year, you’re going to hate yourself a little bit. (okay a lot) So you have these personal goals you set for your own accomplishments (must submit book for publication!), you have goals you set for your enjoyment (I want to read such and such book soon!), you have obligations with family due to holidays (gotta visit grandmas, parents, in-laws, aunts and uncles), there are expectations due to society (decorate your house? mail cards? bake cookies? buy gifts!)…

Let’s not even bring up your resolution to lose weight this year. Now you have 3 weeks left and you’ve GAINED ten pounds this year. No way THAT’S going away before 2017.

So it’s all hurtling towards this December 31 deadline for all this crap you need/want to do. I have a list of six things I need/want to accomplish this month, and I’ve finished one of them so far. We’re a third of the way through the month. It is not looking good for accomplishing the other five.

My plan for this blog post was to blast through Josh Lanyon’s new book, Curse of the Blue Scarab, last night, and then post a review of it today. But yesterday did not go as planned and I only made it through 25% of Curse of the Blue Scarab. I passed out while reading, because I work a full-time job and then stay up until midnight/1am trying to accomplish all the personal goals I have set for myself, and by the time Friday rolls around and I’m on Day Five of Not Enough Sleep, I am running on nothing but energy drinks and determination.

This is not healthy. I do not have balance. Do not be like me.

I do realize that if i don’t accomplish all of my goals, the world will not end. December 31 isn’t some kind of due date. Real life is not school and we are not going to have points docked from our Life Accomplishments grade if we don’t accomplish all our goals. December 31 is just a convenient date.

Going into 2017, I propose two things:

  1. Breathe. Don’t overbook yourself, don’t be too hard on yourself if you miss a deadline or lose inspiration or eat a lot of cookies. The World Will Not End. I promise.
  2. Don’t wait to get started on your goals. You don’t have to wait until January 1 to get a “fresh start” or whatever. Dates are arbitrary and meaningless. Start now. Start now, and tell no one. Do it for you. Forget society’s expectations. Society can suck it.

And if you don’t have a cat, go rescue a cat. Cats are masters of zen and very good at telling society to suck it.

20160916_151034
This is my fat cat, Ryu. He gives no shits about impending deadlines.
Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

Leave a Reply

