Becoming A Writer

Earlier this week, I read parts of a discussion on Josh Lanyon’s facebook page about changes in the writing/publishing world over the past few years (perhaps this is specific to the m/m romance genre, but perhaps not). Basically, Josh has noticed a trend of people going from readers to read-and-reviewers and then to writers themselves–the idea being that self-publishing and the internet have made it a lot easier for anyone to try their hand at the “writing” game.

I thought this was interesting. It made me think of how many different “paths” there are to become a writer, so I thought this week I would share an abbreviated history of myself as a writer.

When I was a wee sprite of a thing, I used to draw cartoons and tell stories on construction paper. These stories always featured Sonic the Hedgehog and his pals. I have no idea what the plots were, but since I was 4-5 years old, I imagine they were deeply introspective and profound. My mother still has these wonderful pieces of literature in a box in her basement. If anyone is interested, I’ll ask her to drag them out and scan me a few pages to share.

In second grade, I wrote stories in school for a project (the whole class did). I recall getting a compliment on one. It was about a fox. I also wrote one about a jellyfish whose kitchen cabinets were haunted, I think.

Fast forward to age 11, when I discovered anime.

…Need I say more? I think a lot of people in my age group have similar origin stories.

Within two days of discovering Dragonball Z, I wrote my first Dragonball Z fanfic. Things spiralled out from there. I wrote and published on fanfiction.net . The stories are still there. Don’t ask me for my screen name because I will take that secret to my grave.

The point to all this is that, for me, writing has always been in me. I enjoy reading, yes. If there is a writer in existence who does not enjoy reading, I feel sorry for them. But writing has been my first and foremost passion since I was old enough to string letters into words on paper. Writing is ingrained in the very fibers of my being. I write for myself and no one else–I have never cared if I have an audience, never cared if people liked my writing, never felt the need to seek validation from the opinions of others. It’s just something I do. Eat, sleep, write. I write, therefore I am. Or perhaps, I am, therefore I write?

But I know a lot of people don’t function that way. Not everyone has been writing since they could hold a crayon. A lot of people make that reader-to-writer transformation. A lot of people have an idea in their head for twenty years but never write a word.

So I’m curious. For those of you who write, how did you end up on this path? Are you a lifelong writer, or fairly new to the process? What nudged you to finally put words on the page for that idea you’ve been harboring? Let me know in the comments!

Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

One thought on “Becoming A Writer”

  1. My path was from reader to writer, although I skipped the reviewer step. I can’t say I’ve been writing stories since I was a kid, other than in my head. I’ve always been a daydreamer, and I’ve always loved to read. One day almost a decade ago I decided to try my hand at putting some of the stories in my head down on paper (so to speak).

    I think scanning some of your childhood writings to share would be a wonderful idea. I’d love to see them! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

