What I Love About Writing

You know how sometimes in life, there’s a thing, and for the most part it’s commonplace and you take it for granted, but then occasionally you think, “…Wow, this is actually really fucking awesome. Literally a mind-blowing cause of awe. Like woah.”

Examples: airplanes. cell phones. the internet. THAT SHIT IS SO COOL. HOW DOES IT WORK? I KNOW THERE’S SCIENCE INVOLVED BUT TO ME IT SEEMS LIKE WITCHCRAFT.

That happens to me with writing sometimes. I write every day, and I have been writing every day for years. Plotting, character development, revision, all of that is commonplace in my life. Maybe it is in yours, too.

But every once in a while, I have this moment of delirious awe about writing. Here I am with this pile of words–87,000 in my current WIP–that are strung together to tell a story. This story ONLY EXISTS because I wanted it to. Because I decided to take the time and devote the energy to birthing it. Sometimes, things in that story need to be changed, but others need to stay the same, so you start cutting great swathes of words out of your draft and adding different words in, and you weave these two separate parts back together in the loom of your mind, with the thread of your words, and no one else could do this the same as you. No one else would write this exactly like you will.

What really blows my mind is when you need to tweak things–remove a minor character, or combine a couple minor characters into one, or rearrange a scene so that the same events happen but at a different location. And YOU CAN DO THAT. You can just magically POOF, shift some words around and BAM, no more George, or BAM, suddenly George and Gloria have combined to form Georgia, a new and better and more efficient character, or BAM, suddenly that dinner scene in Chapter 4 is at a classy Italian restaurant instead of a character’s dining room.

And no one knows! You just changed the fabric of reality! You just DELETED A PERSON’S EXISTENCE. You just lifted characters out of their house and plopped them into an eatery and they continued having the same conversation they were having back at their scuffed up dining room table. And no one will have any idea because you go taka taka taka, and then that’s just how it is.

It’s just really cool.

What’s your favorite thing about writing? Or, for my non-writer followers, is there anything commonplace in your life that just occasionally blows your mind? Drop me a comment!

Featured image credit: Tatyana Chaiko
Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

3 thoughts on “What I Love About Writing”

    1. Yes! It’s almost overwhelming to me. “Ooh! I could write scifi! OOH! I could write a western! Ooh! I could have a doctor character! Or a soldier! Or a wizard/king/queen/dragon rider/assassin/lion tamer/ANYTHING OR ANYONE I WANT!”

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

