Rainbow Snippet 2/11/17 – Jigs & Reels

Hi everyone, and happy Rainbow Snippet day!

I wanted to thank everyone who has read my snippets over the past few weeks. On Wednesday this week, I got my first rejection back on Stray (the Andy & Trystin novel I’ve been posting from). Everyone’s positive comments on snippets from that book have helped keep me from getting discouraged, and I’m working on sending it out to the next publisher on the list. Thank you so much everyone! Hopefully I’ll be able to deliver better news in a few months!

For now, here are six more lines from Jigs and Reels. It turns out Katie (from last week’s snip) volunteered our POV character, Elijah, to audition for an Irish band without his knowledge. One of his potential band mates is Peter, a flutist. Double entendres abound.



“You play flute?” I asked him, trying to sound casual.

“Sure do.” He winked again and grinned. He was a very winky guy. And cute. “Do you play flute?”

I tried to keep a straight face. “I’ve been known to play a flute or two in my day.”



Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!). Visit the group for links to more snippets from LGBT works! While you’re over there, shoot me a friend request!

Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

18 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippet 2/11/17 – Jigs & Reels”

  1. I find that analogy hilarious. I always imagine someone actually trying to play the you-know-what like an actual flute, which makes for fun images in my head. Especially if it’s an uncircumcised…flute… 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

