Rainbow Snippets – 3/4/17 – Jigs and Reels

Good morning, snippet friends, and happy March! Spring is on its way~! I’m starting to clean up my flower beds and get ready to sow seeds towards the end of the month. Right now all my story ideas are based around music, because that’s my current obsession, but as we start to move into spring and summer I’ll likely find myself writing about men who love flowers and keep gardens. There is a distinct lack of flower-loving men in the books I read, so I think I need to write some. I was doing a bit of cleanup a couple weeks ago during a freakish warm spell and got a scene in my head that won’t go away, which involves raking leaves shirtless (and perhaps a nosy neighbor), but I don’t really know where it goes. It’ll have to gestate for a while.

Anyhoo, a few more lines from Jigs and Reels. After agreeing to fill in with the band for the festival weekend, Eli has to go back to work the next day. This is glimpse of his day job and his boss, MaryAnn, talking to his cubicle neighbor Ellen. I went over six lines, I know, but they’re mostly short lines.




MaryAnn waltzed out of her office. She looked like the kind of woman who could be knocked over in a strong wind—“waifish” is the word, I think. Tall, toothpick-thin, with an expression like she’d just popped a handful of extreme sour Warheads into her mouth.

“Ellen, you were six minutes late today. You know the acceptable cut-off is five minutes, right?”

“Yeah, I know,” Ellen sighed. “There was an accident. I had to go around.”

“Oh, that’s fine. Life happens.” MaryAnn smiled brightly. “Just don’t let it happen too much!” And she returned to her office.

“Yeah,” Ellen muttered. “Heaven forbid we let life happen outside this hell hole.”




Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!). Visit the group for links to more snippets from LGBT works! While you’re over there, shoot me a friend request!

Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

9 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippets – 3/4/17 – Jigs and Reels”

Leave a Reply

