Rainbow Snippets – 3/11/17 – New Story

Hello hello! How is everyone doing this fine Rainbow Snippets Saturday?

I’ve started a new short story! A first draft of Jigs and Reels is complete and I’m letting it simmer while I write a first draft of this new story. The plan is basically to just keep leapfrogging stories through writing/editing phases. Write the first one, let it simmer, write a second, edit the first, send it out, write a third, edit the second, send it out, etc… And at some point I need to start editing the novel draft I wrote during NaNoWriMo last November… Ugh, what’s the saying? Got my fingers in too many pots? Too many jars? I don’t know.

Anyway, this new story is something different for me. It’s a historical setting with most of the story taking place on a privateer’s vessel in the 1600s? ish? It’s not going exactly as planned… I came up with the idea around Halloween. I wanted it to be a suspense thing, but of course I am incapable of writing anything that doesn’t involve two men loving each other, so it’s a suspense…. romance… with pirates…? But the “suspense” aspect is difficult for me. I don’t write horror or thrillers or psychological stuff so it’ll need some work. But yay trying new things!

ANYWHO, THE SNIPPET. The POV character is named Morgan. He’s been on the captain’s ship for just under a week. Working title is Shipwrecked.




The captain left the helm and came down the stairs towards me. He wore no shoes—most of us wore no shoes—and his trousers had been rolled up to expose most of his lower leg. Tanned, muscular lower leg with thick black hair. I tried not to stare. There was no privacy at sea and I did not fancy the idea of satisfying my desires tonight in my hammock, surrounded by the rest of the crew.

“Come with me.”




Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!). Visit the group for links to more snippets from LGBT works! While you’re over there, shoot me a friend request!

Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

6 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippets – 3/11/17 – New Story”

Leave a Reply

