Rainbow Snippets 4/22/17 – New Story!

Hi everyone! I missed the last couple weeks of snippetting due to, well, frankly, a horrible period of self-doubt.

I started a new novel at the beginning of April, and it involves BDSM, which is something I don’t have much experience with. And one of the MCs is asexual, which is something I do have personal experience with, but that’s making it oddly more difficult to write because it’s personal.

Anyway, it took me a few weeks to decide that I don’t hate it and I’m fairly sure I’m going to finish it at this point (29,000 words later…), so I’ll start sharing. I don’t even have a working title yet. Goodness. These are the opening six lines.




I spotted Alex immediately based on Hannah’s description. Tall, with light brown hair styled in that “just woke up” intentional mess. Or maybe it was actually just a mess. A purple t-shirt and track pants did nothing to disguise his impressive musculature. As he chatted with a woman at the desk, his smile was quick and frequent. Yeah, I could see why my sister had wanted me to come ogle him.




Rainbow Snippets is a group for LGBTQ+ authors, readers, and bloggers to gather once a week to share six sentences from a work of fiction–a WIP or a finished work or even a 6-sentence book recommendation (no spoilers please!). Visit the group for links to more snippets from LGBT works! While you’re over there, shoot me a friend request!

Published by

leighmlorentz

As yet unpublished author of m/m romance.

13 thoughts on “Rainbow Snippets 4/22/17 – New Story!”

  1. He sounds ogle-worthy!

    I soooooo feel you on being very personal and having that be hard to write. But at the same time, I find I’m at my most honest and readers like me best when I allow those tender places to show through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And that’s very true. Part of the fun of reading is finding identifiable experiences. If you only write what everyone else is writing, what’s gonna make people seek out your book?

      Like

  2. I don’t have any advice except write the story you want to read and do it to the best of your ability. The rest of us don’t mean a damn thing in the long run. If you like it, you’ve succeeded. I really liked the opening, though, Leigh. Good luck. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

